Encouraging Normal People to Love Literature

The Traditional Teacher

We have recently been encouraged as fathers, not for the first time, to be ‘seen reading’ in a family context. I am sure I am not the only father who has at times felt a twinge of guilt that they are not sitting around reading novels in front of their children. I’m rather busy during the day, with five young children. The older children have plenty to do as well, helping around the house, and I often have to tell them to put down their book, because there’s work to be done.

I very rarely read in front of my children, but I regularly read to them. I have continued to do this as they have got older. My eldest is now ten, and each evening I read The Lord of the Rings to the three oldest of my five children. They could all read the book themselves, and indeed they…

View original post 592 more words

Leave a Reply

