Literacy Methods: Shame or Safety? | Tricia

I was speaking at a high school where I had one hour to train 30 staff members in spelling with the English code which meant no time for the usual asides, quips or soapbox moments. I found myself saying, “I love the idea of very high expectations, but…” and moving on before I could expound. I did get to share this slide, but, again, with no time to discuss the concept of every classroom being a “shame free learning space”.

That lack of explanation has bothered me since, because the essence of That Reading Thing is not just that it’s a sound method for teaching reading and spelling, but that…

Continue reading at:
http://ift.tt/27GY6XP

Leave a Reply

