“Does he need more phonics?” |

Over recent years, a vast amount of money has been spent by schools to train staff and buy resources to deliver quality Systematic Synthetic Phonics (SSP) programmes. Sadly, however, investing in a highly-esteemed SSP programme is not a fail-safe guarantee for reading success.

During my work with beginner readers in schools, I have been asked:
“Does he need more phonics?”
When I inquire further, I find this question often means:
“Do we need to teach this child more letters and sounds?”
Yet, when I spend time with children who are experiencing difficulties in their reading development, I…

Continue reading at:
http://ift.tt/29N8TeW

Leave a Reply

