Lessons from the past |

​In the mid 1990s, I taught English to 7-15 year olds in a school for Romanian speakers in Cahul, Moldova.  The teaching environment was basic: bare classrooms, wooden desks, chalkboards. Resources were scarce, waste was minimal; a far-cry from the majority of schools I’ve worked in since.

I wonder to what extent this early experience in my teaching career is responsible for my ongoing struggles with the throw-away mentality in education today? I need to be clear that I am not interested in hoarding unnecessarily, or creating spaces filled with clutter, and I accept there is ‘a time…

Continue reading at:
http://ift.tt/2gMTeKS

Leave a Reply

